Meet our featured swapper Mackenzie Cox

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Meet our featured swapper, Mackenzie Cox who works and goes to school at Evergreen. Wednesday is her second food swap. At the last event she brought her family and boyfriend to the swap with her and all had a great time.

What do you tell your friends about the food swap?

I tell them that it’s a fun easy way to get involved with the community as well as connect with people that can appreciate the work it takes to make the items.

What do you hope to see at the swap?

I hope to see some sort of chocolate, it’s something I always crave and love to see how others find creative ways to use it.

Any favorite recipes to share?

Favorite recipe is difficult because I make food in such a spontaneous way, allowing the food to create itself, but I did make a blackberry pie the other day that was easy and delicious.

Blackberry pie
4 cups of blackberries
2 Eggs
1/3 Cup of Sugar
4 Tablespoons of flour
1/4 Teaspoon of salt
1 teaspoon of vanilla extract
1 Cup of heavy whipping cream

I made my own graham cracker crust for this as well. Just turn your oven to 400 and mix the eggs, sugar, flour, salt, vanilla, and whipping cream in a bowl. Put the blackberries on your crust, and then pour the mixture over your blackberries. Bake between 30 and 40 min. Simple.

What food do you want to explore making?

With the cold season coming I want to explore different uses of winter squash because it is something I have grown up knowing only as a decoration.

Have you changed what you swap as the events go along?

Each swap definitely changes with the seasons and what hasn’t been devoured by my family.

What was the most popular thing you’ve made?

I think at the last swap the quickest thing to trade were the pickled asparagus.

Why do you like the event for Olympia?

This past summer I have seen a lot of community growth in Olympia and I think the swap not only helps with this growth but also allows individuals to see new ideas that they can try at home.

What do you think of the Grub site?

The Grub is a beautiful site that I felt worked perfect for the event, as well as allowed others to learn some of the amazing things Grub is doing in the community.

What do you bring to the potluck?

The next swap I plan on bringing quinoa salad and hopefully gluten free goodies.

What is your favorite alcoholic concoction?

Sadly I have not had a chance to taste many alcoholic concoctions but I do appreciate a nice glass of homemade wine.

Favorite coffee spot to in Olympia?

Mudbay Coffee is my go to spot, the knitted artwork on the walls, friendly staff, and comfy chairs helps me to relax and enjoy the moment.

For the swap Wednesday, we have 5 tickets available, the swap is 6:30 to 8:30 p.m., includes a potluck, a free table and is at Grub at 2016 Elliott Ave NW, West Olympia.

Leave a Reply

