Featured swapper – Jeriann!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Featured Swapper – Jeriann Schriner

Featured swapper, Jeriann is co-organizer of the Oly Food Swap with Kathy and Brooke. She is a teacher by day and makes amazing kale chips. She takes care of our Eventbrite site for ticketing for the swaps. Last swap she made a wonderful cumin cabbage slaw for the potluck and you can find the recipe here.

What is your day job?

I have the deep joy of teaching the 1st-3rd grade class at the Olympia Community School.  My dream job!

How did you get involved in the swap?

I first became aware of food swaps when Grub posted about it on Facebook.  I met Brooke and Kathy and it has been great making it happen with two wonderful ladies here in Oly. Yay!

What was your favorite thing you got from the swap?

That is a tough one…so many great items!  I really liked the black bean brownies, ginger cookies, lemon curd, salsa, itch relief balm, strawberry-chocolate spread, and chocolate.

Did anything you got inspire you to make some of your own?

Yes, I started making my own chocolate again which I really love doing.  I like being able to decide what kind of sweetener I use, how much of it, and the flavor I want to add to it.

What do you think of the swappers you’ve met?

Everyone is so wonderful and friendly.  All the swappers I have chatted with are very open in sharing their recipes and helpful hints to making something.  It’s a very welcoming group of folks.

Is there anything you’ve wanted to learn to make?

I would love to feel more comfortable with fermenting foods beyond sauerkraut.

Is there one thing special you like to get for yourself when you go shopping?

I try not to buy packaged foods but I just can’t resist a pint of the vanilla Coconut Bliss ice cream. Add fresh fruit and YUM!

What restaurants do you dream of returning to and what did you eat there?

I love Chaco Canyon in Seattle and make it a point to go there whenever I’m up there.  I enjoy eating just about everything on their menu…great raw pizza, delicious vegan sandwiches and awesome raw and vegan desserts.

What food most reminds you of your childhood?

Pickles.  I just LOVED dill pickles (and still do!).  Every time I open a jar of pickles the smell transports me to being a kid and eating pickles in my mom’s kitchen.

If you were on a desert island and could only have three foods for the rest of your life, what would they be?

I am pretty practical and would want as much nutrients as I could get as well as tastiness, so it would have to be avocados, kale and blueberries.

You have last minute company coming for dinner – what do you make?

Ooooh, hmmm…I would probably make vegetarian sushi since I always have all sorts of veggies in the fridge and the rice cooks quickly.  Friends and family have always had fun learning how to roll their own rolls and they can put what they like in it – everyone’s happy!

What are your other hobbies?

I love growing food.  I have two plots at Sunrise Community Garden which I love but also dream of the day when I get to garden much more in my own yard. I also like knitting, sewing, crafting, and dancing.

Do you have a recipe to share?

These coconut haystacks are sooo good, super easy and satisfy those sweet cravings.

Coconut Haystacks

 3/4 cup coconut oil

1/2 cup  honey

1/2 cup cocoa powder

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

3 cups shredded coconut

Directions

Place the coconut oil in a bowl of hot water, or put it in a dehydrator for 10 minutes to liquefy it.   Place honey, coconut oil, cocoa powder, and vanilla in a blender. Blend on high until batter emulsifies.

Leave a Reply

