Swapper Profile – Kathy Moore

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Kathy Moore is our featured swapper and one of the co-organizers for the Oly Food Swap. She has two daughters, lives in Olympia and dabbles in everything in the kitchen. I am fortunate to have been cooking with Kathy for over 4 years and I am constantly getting ideas (and samples!) from her. Did you know Kathy used to teach cake decorating classes? You should see her beautiful cakes! Did you also know she makes amazing Ethiopian food?

Why do you like the food swap?

It gives me a chance to try things I never would have thought of and it also gives me a chance to fill out my pantry with items I wasn’t able to make this year.  Missed strawberry season?  No worries, I know someone at the swap will have strawberry delights.   I also love all the food friends I have made.   Anyone who attends the swap will have lots to talk about with pretty much everyone there because we are all into food.

What were some of the things you liked that you received at the last event?

I have really enjoyed trying everything but I got some awesome vanilla extract last time, some mustard, siracha salt, incredible handmade soap, apple cider vinegar and some super tasty gluten free scones.

What have you made for the swap?

This time I am working on some shrubs (sippable vinegars or you add them to sparkling water or cocktails), some dark chocolate raspberry jam,  dried plums, fruit leather, sauerkraut, fermented pickles,  and I might make some blackberry curd.

Any favorite recipes to share?

I made this last time for the swap and it is super easy and very tasty:  Homemade Magic Shell:  12 oz quality chocolate (any kind, you can use dark, milk or white chips or chopped up bars)  1/2 cup cold pressed coconut oil, 1 tsp vanilla extract.  Melt chocolate and coconut oil over a double boiler, take off heat and mix in vanilla extract.   Store in jars and keep at room temperature.    If it solidifies just warm gently and pour over ice cream or cold fruit.

Have you changed what you swap as the events go along or no?

I change what I bring every time just because I like to try out new recipes.  I like to see how each swap is different and changes with the seasons and what is available to preserve.

Why do you think people should participate?

It is a great way to connect with other foodies, and to supplement your pantry with items you don’t have while finding appreciative homes for the items you have in surplus.

What is your favorite breakfast food?

Lately I have been on an oatmeal kick and have been doing the refrigerator oatmeal making up a week’s worth in advance.  http://www.theyummylife.com/Refrigerator_Oatmeal

I love how the chia seeds have lots of omega 3’s and it really fills you up.  Plus you can change around the flavors to suit your taste.  But my hands down favorite breakfast is a chocolate croissant and a cup of dandelion coffee (dandy blend:  http://www.amazon.com/DANDY-BLEND-INSTANT-COFFEE-BEVERAGE/dp/B005P0XDJK/ref=sr_1_3?ie=UTF8&qid=1347384842&sr=8-3&keywords=dandy+blend).

What food can you not stand?

I am pretty much the least picky eater you will find and if you invite me to dinner I will eat it and say I like it (my mother taught me manners)  but if I had my druthers I would ban sweet pickles from my life.  They give me a kind of car-sick induced head ache.

Favorite spot to eat in Olympia?

I love Curry Corner.  Best Indian food in Olympia in my incredibly informed and knowledgeable opinion.  🙂

Leave a Reply

