Featured swapper – Rachel

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Meet our featured swapper, Rachel Freer. She has a blog, He’s my brother, not my boyfriend and she sells items on Etsy. She has twice participated in the Olympia Food Swap.

Why do you like the food swap?

I like to meet other people who are interested in food preservation and un-processed food. People who like to cook with local, natural ingredients.

Why have you participated in the past and now?

I like to have a variety of foods in my pantry. I get things that I never would have made myself. Also, I sometimes preserve too much of something, so I love to know that other people will enjoy the food I have made.

What were some of the things you liked that you received at the last event?

I wasn’t able to participate in the last event, but at the December food swap, my favorites were hot fudge (which was to die for), ketchup, and some syrups. I was inspired by the syrups I received last year to make my own this year. I’ve made violet syrup, rhubarb syrup, vanilla – peach syrup, and strawberry syrup.

How did you hear about the swap?

To be perfectly honest, I can’t remember how I heard about the swap. Probably on facebook. đŸ˜‰

What have you made for the swap?

At the December swap, I traded salsa verde, nectarine honey syrup, and nectarine preserves. For this swap, I have some blackberry jam, possibly strawberry-rhubarb jam, and possibly rhubarb syrup or rhubarb pie filling. I have been pickling a few different things (garlic scapes, asparagus, green beans, radishes, and of course, cucumbers) in small batches all summer, so may have some of those to trade as well. I might trade a jar or two of sugared violets and maybe some mustard. I am also considering making some mini-loaves of banana bread, and knitting dishcloths.

Have you changed what you swap as the events go along, or no?

I’m always looking for new recipes online and adding them to pinterest  http://pinterest.com/dharma_rebel/can/ plus I have a ton of canning books. There are just way too many recipes to try. So I will probably not very often swap the same thing twice.

Why do you think people should participate?

I think people should participate for the same reason I like the food swap. I want to meet you if you like to can food, make food, eat food. Also the more people who come, the more items to swap for!

What is your favorite fruit?

My favorite fruits are cherries (served cold in a big bowl) and nectarines. I made an awesome blackberry-nectarine crisp this summer. Yummy!

Do you have a recipe you can share with us?

Blackberry – Nectarine Crisp

3 nectarines, pitted and sliced

2 cups of blackberries, rinsed

1 tbsp cornstarch

2 tbsp fresh lemon juice

1/3 cup cane sugar

2/3 cup almond flour (you can use all-purpose flour as well, but we have a GF person in the family)

    Crisp (I always triple this  – the crust is the best part!)

3/4 cup light brown sugar

3/4 cup rolled oats

1/2 tsp salt

1/2 tsp grated nutmeg

1 tsp cinnamon

6 tbsp cold, unsalted butter, cut into bits

3/4 cup chopped, toasted hazelnuts

In a large bowl, toss nectarines and blackberries gently with cornstarch, sugar and lemon juice until mixture is combined.

In a small bowl (or a big one, if you triple it like I do) whisk together the flour, brown sugar, oats, salt, nutmeg and cinnamon.

Whisk in toasted hazelnuts.

Add the butter and incorporate. I find the best way to do this is with my hands.

Spread fruit in a 3 quart baking dish and sprinkle crisp evenly over it.

Bake at 350 for 40 – 50 minutes, until top is golden brown.

Leave a Reply

